*Updated February 9th, 2022.
*Updated July 1st, 2022.
Disclaimer: To get started, we want to share a small disclaimer. We are dedicated and proud supporters of everything 2nd amendment, but we are not lawyers. So, before you take what you read here and run with it, you will want to double-check all of your local or state gun laws. Make sure you are up to date on any special regulations that may apply to you and your situation. Gun laws are always changing and always do your part to stay up to date with the newest and current laws.
An80 percent lower, blank receiver, or, as some critics refer to them as, “ghost guns,” are not technically firearms, according to the federal government and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF). Unfortunately, some states, including Washington, do not see it that way.
In the eyes of local and state governments throughout the state of Washington, an 80 percent rifle or lower must be heavily regulated or outright banned. At least, that is seemingly their goal.
Here is what you need to know about 80% firearms in Washington.
What is an 80 Percent Receiver?
An 80% lower receiver is an unfinished and unserialized blank which requires some machining work from the end user to turn it into a 100% lower receiver, otherwise, what is legally considered as a firearm. 80 lowers are missing the trigger pocket and three holes that need to be milled and drilled out to be completed. Unless states have passed their own laws barring the possession or sales of 80% products; pending the ATF's updated decision from the ATF's new rule aiming to redefine what a firearm is including lower receivers and frames (2021R-05F). As of now, 80% lowers are completely legal, federally not considered firearms and thus can be shipped straight to your front door. No FFL required (some states have made their own laws to restrict 80 percent products). To explore the 80 lowers we have to offer, check out our multiple lines of product.
Did Washington Ban 80% Lowers?
Well, neither will disarming law abiding citizens so they can't defend themselves...
On April 23, 2019, the state legislators passed a bill prohibiting the manufacture and sale of what they call “untraceable firearms,” or 80 percent lowers turned firearms.Their goal is also to stop 3D-printed firearm schematics and firearms in Washington.
Washington’s HB 1739
The bill, known asHB 1739, was introduced on March 4, 2019. The Senate passed it on April 16. On May 7, the Washington Governor signed a law, which took effect on July 1, 2019.
This bill affects 80 percent lowers, polymer firearms, 3D-printed firearms, schematics, and the AR-15 as a whole. Here is what is the bill says:
“Except as otherwise provided in this section, it is unlawful for any person to:
- (a) Manufacture, own, buy, sell, loan, furnish, transport, or have in possession or under control, any machine gun, bump-fire stock, undetectable firearm, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle;
- (b) Manufacture, own, buy, sell, loan, furnish, transport, or have in possession or under control, any part designed and intended solely and exclusively for use in a machine gun, bump-fire stock, undetectable firearm, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle, or in converting a weapon into a machine gun, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle;”
- (c) Assemble or repair any machine gun, bump-fire stock, undetectable firearm, short-barreled shotgun, or short-barreled rifle; or
- (d) Manufacture an untraceable firearm with the intent to sell the untraceable firearm."
Are 80 Lowers Legal In Washington?
As of this guide’s initial publish date, 80% lower receivers and frames are not considered as firearms by the ATF and are completely legal to ship directly to buyers residing in the state of Washington. What was specifically banned on HB1739 was mainly 3D-printed or polymer based 80% AR-15 lower receivers. As far as the lower receivers and frames sold by 80 Percent Arms go, they were legal to purchase and own per Washington state and federal regulations.
Then,HB 1705 was passed and went into effect July 1, 2022 - which means that the manufacture, assemble, purchase or sale of an unfinished lower receiver or frame is now illegal in the state of Washington.
Do I Need to Serialize My 80 Lower in Washington?
If you wish to remain compliant with WA law and you have built out your own firearms starting with 80 lowers in Washington - you'll need to contact your local or state officials to find out what the legal process is to serialize your 80 percent lower receivers that were built out into 100%'s, if there is one at all.
Key Gun Laws in Washington
Other than laws regarding 80 lowers, these are the key gun laws you should be aware of if you reside or are traveling through Washington.
Firearm Possession and Purchase Requirements
To purchase a handgun and a semiautomatic “assault rifle” in the state of Washington buyers must be at least 21 years old. No extra permits or licenses are necessary for the purchase of handguns or long guns. Washington’s minimum age for possession of any gun is 21 years old. In the event a minor is in possession of a handgun the normal exemptions apply when minors have consent from their parents or guardian or if they are in direct supervision or presence of their parents, guardian or when attending a hunter’s or firearms safety course, using the gun for target practice or recreational shooting at an established range, involved in an organized competition, hunting or trapping with a valid license, traveling to and from these events, or at their own residence with permission and supervision of a parents or a legal guardian.
All firearm purchases and transfers require a background check including private party transfers (Dealer Record of Sale also known as 4473 form or “DROS”). While federal law requires federal firearm license holders (“FFL’s”:) to initiate background checks on buyers prior to the sale of a firearm, federal law also allows states to serve as their own “point of contact” and conduct their own background checks via state, federal records or databases, as well as the option to use the FBI’s National Instant Criminal Background Check System (“NICS”) database. Washington is a full point of contact for the NICS and as a result, dealers must conduct their background checks by going through the Washington State Patrol and Department of Social and Health Services. Washington does have a mandatory waiting period of 10 days before buyers can take their firearm purchases home.
Open and Concealed Carrying
Washington is a “shall-issue” state for concealed carrying. Open carrying is also legal in Washington without a permit. Open carry is legal without permit for anyone who is at least 21 years old and legally allowed to possess a firearm. CCW’s are offered in the form of a “CPL” or Concealed Pistol License. Some areas are off-limits such as public schools or federal buildings, be sure to do your research before going into areas you don’t regularly frequent. CPL applicants must be at least 21 years old and there is no training class requirement. For more details on their concealed carrying policies see Washington’s reciprocity map here.
Machine guns and short barreled shotguns are illegal but suppressors and destructive devices are legal for residents in Washington to purchase and possess (provided it was done with the proper paperwork through the ATF). Please note that Washington state does have an “assault weapons” ban.
Magazine Capacity Restrictions
For now, there are no magazine capacity restrictions in the state of Washington. Enjoy those sticks, drums and belt-fed box magazines while you can!! Washington state senate just passedSB 5078 which will ban all standard capacity magazines. If you'd like to preemptively stock up, we carry plenty of standard capacity magazines like the Lancer Advanced Warfighter L5 mag which is a 30 rounder too. Our favorite color is the translucent smoke one.
Mandatory Storage Requirements
There are no mandatory storage requirements in Washington but you should still exercise caution because you can be tried for negligently leaving your guns accessible to children. If you need some good ideas or best practices for storing your guns and gear here are 5 ways to store your firearms at home.
Washington state is not a castle doctrine state and doesn’t have an explicit stand your ground law in place but the Supreme Court in Washington has consistently ruled that there is no duty retreat if a person is in a place that they are legally allowed to be when being assaulted and forced to respond with force for their own self-defense and defense of others. However, Washingtonians must be careful to note that they cannot use more force than necessary depending on the given situation — A response of “equal force” is necessary.
Washington state requires a license for dealers to sell ammo but licenses are not required for individuals who aren’t dealers. Sales records do not have to be maintained. Purchase, possession and sale of ammo does not require a license. Essentially, all ammunition is unrestricted in Washington. Ammo does, however, need to at all times be safely stored separately from flammable materials by a fire-resistant wall of a one hour rating or by a distance of 25 feet. Online ammo purchases require buyers to be at least 21 years old but can be straight to your front door.
Do you ship to Washington?
We are currently no longer able to ship any 80% AR lowers, MOD1 frames or MOD1 jigs to residents in the state of Washington. We thank you for many years of business and your patronage. Unfortunately, Washington has grown incredibly hostile against our company and these specific products shipped to this state would fall under haphazard and intense scrutiny. You can still order accessories, some replacement parts and tooling though. Otherwise, if you're ever in Texas, give our new showroom a visit once it's ready and open in Fort Worth!
Can you build an AR in Washington? ›
Only a Class 07 Federal Firearms Licensee (Manufacturer) may legally assemble or manufacture a short barreled rifle in WA and only if they do legitimate business with the military or law enforcement. Thus, WA residents wanting a short barreled rifle can have them registered by 07 FFL holding a 02 SOT. (RCW 9.41.What are the gun laws in Washington state 2022? ›
Those laws go into effect July 1, 2022. Under the new law, that restriction is expanded to prohibit the manufacture, assembly, purchase or sale of an untraceable firearm. A first violation is a civil infraction that comes with a fine of up to $500.Are 80 percent lowers still legal 2022? ›
80% lowers are legal in federal law. However there are some states that regulate them or completely ban the ownership or manufacturer of guns by unlicensed persons. When you build an 80% lower, you essentially become your own gun manufacturer, meaning there are some rules you have to follow on the federal level.How strict are Washington's gun laws? ›
In Washington, several laws are in place to prevent gun violence. The state requires universal background checks during gun sales, a ban on high-capacity magazines and people younger than 21 are not allowed to buy semi-automatic weapons.Can you have 30 round mags in Washington state? ›
As of July 1, the sale of ammunition magazines that hold more than 10 rounds is banned in the state. Importing, manufacturing and distributing high-capacity magazines are also outlawed.Can I carry a gun while hiking in Washington? ›
Open carry is legal in the state of Washington. It is legal to carry a concealed firearm while engaging in lawful recreational activities such as hunting, fishing, camping, hiking or horseback riding or traveling to legitimate outdoor recreation areas.Can you buy 80 lowers in Washington? ›
Are 80 Lowers Legal In Washington? As of this guide's initial publish date, 80% lower receivers and frames are not considered as firearms by the ATF and are completely legal to ship directly to buyers residing in the state of Washington.Can I carry a gun in my car in Washington state? ›
(2)(a) A person shall not carry or place a loaded pistol in any vehicle unless the person has a license to carry a concealed pistol and: (i) The pistol is on the licensee's person, (ii) the licensee is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there, or (iii) the licensee is away from the vehicle and the ...Do I need to register my firearm in Washington state? ›
Though there is no formal registration needed under Washington firearm laws for gun owners or firearms, police records are kept for the purchase of all firearms. This acts as a form of registration that is not mandated by law, and the proper authorities can keep track of firearms and their owners to a certain extent.Do I have to serialize my 80 lower 2022? ›
However, under the new rule, 80 percent receivers without serial numbers will be illegal as they are currently being sold. To enforce the new rule, the ATF will require those parts to be serialized and sold through FFLs all regulated by the ATF.
Does an 80 lower need a serial number? ›
Does an 80% Lower Need a Serial Number? In most cases, you do not need to serialize your 80% lower, even after building your rifle or pistol. Under federal law, any individual building a firearm at home for personal use does not need to mark their firearm with a serial number.What are the rules for an 80% lower? ›
CALIFORNIA: California allows the purchase and use of 80% lowers, so long as you apply for a serial number via the California Department of Justice. Your unique number is registered and engraved on the receiver or frame of your AR-15.Are AR 15s illegal in Washington state? ›
Washington residents are permitted to possess a wide array of firearms. Pistols (revolver and semi-auto), rifles, assault rifles and shotguns are all permitted without a license.Can I own a 50 cal in Washington state? ›
The sale, unregistered possession, purchase, sale, or manufacture of . 50 BMG firearms is prohibited. These weapons are declared a public nuisance.Is an AK 47 legal in Washington state? ›
A day earlier, 22 people died in El Paso, Texas, when a 21-year-old went on a rampage with an assault-style rifle. His AK-47-style weapon is also legal to purchase in Washington state.How many rounds can you legally carry in Washington state? ›
Per Senate Bill 5078 – passed by the Legislature and signed into law by Gov. Jay Inslee earlier this year – the only magazines allowed for sale and importation into Washington will be those with a maximum capacity of 10 rounds. Any magazines currently owned that hold more than 10 rounds are unaffected by the new law.Can you have loaded magazines in your car Washington state? ›
Open Carry is legal but you must have a valid permit/license to carry a loaded handgun in any vehicle in Washington. This includes cars, buses and trains. You can keep the firearm holstered with empty chamber on your hip in your vehicle (can't be concealed) but the loaded mag must be removed.What knives are legal to carry in Washington state? ›
In the state of Washington, it is legal to own a dirk, dagger, or any kind of stabbing knife; a bowie knife; a stiletto; a disguised knife; and even throwing stars. What is illegal is to conceal carry a dirk, dagger, or any dangerous weapon.Can I carry my wife's gun in Washington state? ›
Only “Immediate” Family Members Qualify
Washington law only allows unregulated family gun transfers between “immediate” family members. For this purpose, the law defines immediate family members as: Spouses and Domestic Partners.
The law does not impose a duty to retreat. This means that if you are in your home, you do not have to try to escape the situation before defending yourself. This is otherwise called, the “Stand Your Ground Rule" in Washington.
Can you open carry a loaded gun in Washington? ›
Washington is an open-carry state, which means that an individual can openly carry a firearm in many public areas, although private property owners may prohibit firearm possession on their property. This right to openly carry firearms doesn't mean that anything goes, however.Can you build a ghost gun in Washington? ›
In 2019, Washington lawmakers passed a law making it a class C felony to manufacture "ghost guns" with the intent to sell them. Under the new law, that restriction is expanded to prohibit the manufacture, assembly, purchase or sale of an untraceable firearm.Can I still buy a p80? ›
Are Polymer 80 Guns Legal in California? Polymer 80 guns are legal in California as long as they are registered with the DOJ and have a unique serial number.What firearms are illegal for hunting in Washington? ›
Rifles used to hunt big game should be sufficiently powerful for the game being hunted. Centerfire rifles used to hunt big game (except cougar) in Washington must be a minimum of . 24. All fully automatic firearms are illegal for hunting.What weapons can a felon own in Washington state? ›
**Felons are prohibited by both Washington state and federal law from possessing firearms. **Federal law also prohibits felons from possessing ammunition.Is a holster open carry? ›
The most typical example of an open carry of handguns is a belt holster that is placed on the belt so that it is visible for everyone. The laws generally allow carrying a gun in such holsters to the members of armed forces.What is the penalty for carrying a concealed weapon without a permit in Washington state? ›
You may be charged with Carrying a Concealed Firearm if you are found with a firearm on your person or concealed in your vehicle. Being in possession of a concealed firearm without a proper license is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 90 days in jail and fines up to $1,000.Can I buy a gun in Oregon if I live in Washington? ›
Residents of Washington may purchase rifles and shotguns in a state other than Washington: PROVIDED, That such residents conform to the applicable provisions of the federal Gun Control Act of 1968, Title IV, Pub. L.Is Washington gun friendly? ›
The Constitution of Washington protects an individual's right to bear arms. Washington preempts localities from regulating firearms in any manner more restrictive than State law except as explicitly authorized by the State legislature.What states can you carry a gun without a permit 2022? ›
This means that anyone that can legally carry a weapon may do so without a permit. The Constitutional Carry states are: Alaska (residents only), Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont (does not issue permits), West Virginia (residents only), and Wyoming.
Can you still buy p80 kits 2022? ›
Beginning July 1, 2022, per CA Assembly Bill 1057, Californians will no longer be able to legally purchase, sell or transport 80% lower receivers.Can the government take your guns? ›
Can the Government Take Your Guns? Even in times of crisis, it is still ILLEGAL for the government to confiscate weapons from law-abiding citizens. The Constitution can't just be put on hold because of a threat. However, that doesn't mean firearm confiscation hasn't happened (or won't happen again).What is the ATF new receiver rule? ›
The new rule modernizes the definition of a firearm and makes clear that parts kits that are readily convertible to functional weapons, or functional “frames” or “receivers” of weapons, are subject to the same regulations as traditional firearms.How much does it cost to get a gun serialized? ›
The initial fee for submitting an application for a unique serial number is $35. This fee will cover the $20 cost for the firearms eligibility check conducted by the Department and the request for one unique serial number for one firearm through CFARS.Can you get a ghost gun serialized? ›
Most States Don't Restrict Unserialized Guns
Rules like California's will soon extend to every state once the new ATF regulations take effect. That doesn't mean privately manufactured firearms will be illegal, but rather that ghost guns will have to be serialized, meaning they must contain a serial number.
On April 11, 2022, the Attorney General signed ATF final rule 2021R-05F, Definition of “Frame or Receiver” and Identification of Firearms.Are ghost guns banned? ›
This final rule bans the business of manufacturing the most accessible ghost guns, such as unserialized “buy build shoot” kits that individuals can buy online or at a store without a background check and can readily assemble into a working firearm in as little as 30 minutes with equipment they have at home.Do you have to serialize a polymer 80? ›
It's actually a good thing that serialization is not required for polymer 80 guns in Florida. Gun laws in this state have become highly strict and severe.Are 80 percent jigs banned? ›
This rule was written with the purpose of banning 80 lower receivers and 80 lower jigs in just 120 days from the publish date. In the meantime, you are still allowed to purchase these products.Are AR-15 illegal in Washington state? ›
Pistols (revolver and semi-auto), rifles, assault rifles and shotguns are all permitted without a license. A license is only required to carry a concealed firearm. But possession of firearms in Washington is not without limits.
Can I legally build my own AR? ›
The ATF has long held that it's 100% legal to build your own AR-15 (and most guns) at home for personal use. You need special paperwork to build a short-barreled rifle (SBR), which is considered an NFA item.Can you hunt with an AR-15 in Washington? ›
It's best to look at the states that don't allow deer hunting with . 223 diameter bullet or an AR-15 rifle. Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Iowa, Massachusetts, Virginia, Ohio, New Jersey, Washington, and West Virginia require larger bullets to be used to hunt game.Can you have a AR pistol in Washington state? ›
Can I Conceal Carry an AR Pistol in Washington State? - YouTubeCan I buy an 80 lower in Washington state? ›
Are 80 Lowers Legal In Washington? As of this guide's initial publish date, 80% lower receivers and frames are not considered as firearms by the ATF and are completely legal to ship directly to buyers residing in the state of Washington.Can you still carry more than 10 rounds in Washington state? ›
Per Senate Bill 5078 – passed by the Legislature and signed into law by Gov. Jay Inslee earlier this year – the only magazines allowed for sale and importation into Washington will be those with a maximum capacity of 10 rounds. Any magazines currently owned that hold more than 10 rounds are unaffected by the new law.Is an AK 47 legal in Washington state? ›
A day earlier, 22 people died in El Paso, Texas, when a 21-year-old went on a rampage with an assault-style rifle. His AK-47-style weapon is also legal to purchase in Washington state.What makes a AR-15 pistol illegal? ›
To qualify as a pistol, there must be no vertical foregrip. An AR-15 pistol has a barrel shorter than 16 inches — this is the minimum legal length for a rifle barrel.Does an AR lower need to be registered as a pistol? ›
Once an AR-15 lower receiver has been built as a rifle, it cannot be built into a pistol without registering it with the BATFE. This means if you bought a completed rifle from a gun shop, you can't build that rifle into a pistol without a tax stamp.Can you buy a AR-15 lower without FFL? ›
In order to legally transfer a stripped AR-15 lower receiver, you will need to have the receiver shipped to a licensed FFL just like you would any other firearm that you're buying out of state.What is the smallest caliber you can hunt deer with in Washington state? ›
A muzzleloading shotgun or rifle used for deer must be . 40 caliber or larger. Buckshot size #1 or larger may be used in a smoothbore of . 60 caliber or larger for deer.
Can you carry a pistol while bow hunting in Washington? ›
(a) It is unlawful for any person to carry or have in his possession any firearm while archery hunting in the field during an archery season specified for that area, except for modern handguns carried for personal protection.Can I shoot a deer on my property in Washington? ›
Killing wildlife to address private property damage is subject to all other state and federal laws including, but not limited to, Titles 77 RCW and 220 WAC. (1) It is unlawful to kill protected wildlife or endangered species (as defined in RCW 77.08.Is Washington a stand your ground state? ›
The law does not impose a duty to retreat. This means that if you are in your home, you do not have to try to escape the situation before defending yourself. This is otherwise called, the “Stand Your Ground Rule" in Washington.Is Washington gun friendly? ›
You must have a valid permit/license to carry a loaded handgun in any vehicle in Washington. Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Washington Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for non-residents with a license/permit from a state that Washington honors.Is Washington open-carry? ›
Open Carry (Without a Valid Permit/License)
Open Carry is legal but you must have a valid permit/license to carry a loaded handgun in any vehicle in Washington. This includes Cars, Buses and Trains.